beauty · Makeup · product review · self care · skin care · tutorial · Uncategorized

Sweet Peach Pallette Tutorial

Raise your hand if you are in love with Too Faced’s re-released Sweet Peach Pallette. ✋ I couldn’t resist, so I hit up Ulta yesterday and got some amazing items (reviews for days, my friends!), along with my palette. I put together this tutorial for the complete look, including color correcting and contouring. Links to products are included. Here’s the before shot:

And the after shot:

1. Skin care. If this isn’t your first time reading Just Like You Beauty, you won’t be surprised to see me include skin care. I won’t go in to details here on my skin care routine- you can see my post “Let’s Talk Skin Care” to see products I use and recommend. I include this here only to say that you want to start your look with a clean, moisturized face.  

2. Color correcting. There are so many color correcting products out there that it can be a little intimidating. I’ve used green color correctors for years in my battles against rosacea, but I’m fairly new to the other colors. I purchased the Ulta Beauty Color Correct Concealer Pallette (which comes with a handy little brush) and went to work. 

First stop: yellow for under-eye circles. If you’re anything like me, these have ceased being a sometimes-after-having-too-much-fun-and-not-enough-sleep thing and have become a part of daily life. I applied a healthy amount of yellow over my entire under-eye area and on the inner corner of my eye near my nose.

Following the yellow application, I applied green to my red zones, except my cheeks. I generally don’t mind a little red peeking through there- I’m going to apply blush anyway. My nose is my biggest problem area, but my chin has been red lately as well. 

On to purple. Okay, at this point, I’m beginning to look like a pastel circus clown and seriously doubting my abilities to pull this off. Laying my doubts aside, I apply purple to my cheekbones and middle of my forehead for highlighting.

With my color correcting complete(ish), I added a small amount of Kat Von D Lock It Foundation in 44 Light Cool and blended using a blending sponge. When I fished, I reapplied another layer of yellow to my pesky eye area, as this is the hardest part to cover.

I then added more foundation and blended with a stippling brush (pictured) to complete my foundation and color correcting. 

3. Contouring. I’m a contouring virgin. There, I said it. I feel better, don’t you? It’s seemed to me that contouring came out of nowhere. While I doubt this is actually the case, I think it’s a fairly new concept to us amateurs. After reading 1000 Pinterest pins and watching 100 tutorials, I decided to go boldly in to the realm of contours. I picked up Makeup Revolution’s contour palette at Ulta and went for it. 

As you can see, I applied the dark shade below my cheekbones, around the top of my forehead (following the shape of my face), on the sides of my nose, across my nose, just under the to of my nose, and under my bottom lip. There are many other spots I’ve seen it done, but I thought I’d keep it simple as a first timer. At this point, I sent a picture to a friend, who remarked that I looked like a Star Wars extra. 

 

I then applied highlights to the middle of my forehead, my cheekbones, and my chin.

I followed up by blending the contours with a blending sponge and my fingers. I’m still waiting on my oval brushes in the mail. These will be a much better tool for the job, but I think I did alright.

4. Getting Faced. After completing my contours, I dusted a light application of Tarte Cosmetics Smooth Operator Finishing Powder and applied City Color Cosmetics Be Matte Blush in Fresh Melon to my cheekbones. I always blends my blush with my fingers, but looking forward to trying out my oval brushes for the task. 

To set my foundation, I went to old faithful, Urban Decay De-slick Makeup Setting Spray. This stuff is everything. I highly recommend it. If you aren’t prone to oiliness, it comes in a regular formula as well. 

5. The eyes have it. For my eye look, I decided to start with the Peaches n’ Cream look from the leaflet inside my Too Faced Sweet Peach Pallette. The first step was to apply Peaches n’ Cream from lash to lid.

The next step is to press Caramelized into the lid and smudge into the lash line.

Next, blend Georgia in to the crease and apply Luscious at the corner near the tear duct. I followed by gently blending with a large brush (like a blusher). 

I love eyeliner. Have I mentioned that? I always always ALWAYS apply a pencil liner to my inner lids. This time it was Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Crayon in black.

To finish out my eyes, I applied a thin line of Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper across my upper lid and added a healthy dose of Tarte Cosmetics Tarteist Lash Paint in black. 

6. Luscious lips. Someday I will master the overdrawn lip. For now, I try to make do with what I have. I wasn’t blessed with a perfect pucker, so lining my lip is essential to creating a nice pout. I generally use lipstick and a small brush to line rather than a lipliner. I don’t have a particular reason, it’s just what I prefer. Here, I lined my lips using Clinique lipstick in Intriguing.

After lining, I filled in with Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Double Dare. I rarely use only one shade of lipstick and I love blending!

I blended in a touch of Too Faced Melted Metal in Tu-Tu to amp up the sparkle on this look.

My last lip touch is a healthy coat of Too Faced Extreme Lip Injection to plump the lip and add a high gloss. Buxom glosses are also a great product to achieve this effect.

One last spritz of setting spray, take the hair down, and I’m ready for a night on the town (right after I get dressed!).

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial! As always, have fun out there and do you!

Leave a comment