beauty · Makeup · self care · skin care · Uncategorized

Let’s Talk Skin Care

As I mentioned in The Five Commandments of Just Like You, proper skin care is essential to your beauty routine. It can even be your entire beauty routine! 

Some people are blessed with perfect skin. Thankfully, for the rest of us, there are all kinds of goodies out there to get us there. 

If you have struggled with skin issues, don’t despair. As someone who had struggled with acne, rosacea, blackheads, and dry skin (sometimes all at once!), I am here to tell you that there is help. And…it doesn’t have to cost a fortune. 

I’m going to review some of my favorite skin care products. They range in price from drug store chump change to department store cha-ching. In this area, I renew my recommendation for trying out a subscription service like Ipsy. I get new skin care products every month, and even in a sample size, a little goes a long way. This is also an advantage as you don’t want to let your products expire or they can become damaging to your skin. Check out these bad boys below. 

1. AcneFree products. Ladies and gentleman, boys and girls, this stuff is a steal. There was a time, not so long ago, when I was having such issues with acne that I couldn’t wear any makeup on my face without breaking out in giant, painful pimples. There were two that were so bad, I actually gave them names (Fred and Steve, if you must know). I must have tried every product there was before stumbling upon the beauty that is AcneFree. Now, I use the Oil-Free Acne Cleanser daily. I’m happy to report that Fred and Steve are a thing of the past. When I do have a little blemish pop up, I hit it with Maximum Strength Terminator 10 as a spot treatment and it’s gone before I know it. Hallelujah and pass the contour palette!

2. Toner Toss Up. I’ll be honest. When it comes to toner, I’m a two-timer. I’ve been a faithful follower of Perricone MD High Potency Face Firming Activator for an eternity. It’s never done me wrong. But a few months ago, I was seduced by Épicé Restorative Toner. It came in my Ipsy Glam Bag and I’m hooked. Now I go back and forth between the two. Some days I even use both! Both products feel great. The Activator is creamier, so I use it on days I feel drier. The Restorative Toner is light and thin, and feels refreshing on the days I feel oily. I certainly wouldn’t dissuade you from having both in your arsenal. 

3. Moisturizer. Unlike my toner dilemma, I use two moisturizing products daily by design. Immediately following toner, I use Tarte Cosmetics Maracuja Oil. This little beauty came in to my life recently, also through the joy that is the Ipsy Glam Bag. I used to use Tea Tree Oil, but the Maracuja Oil is so much lighter that my skin just drinks it up, and it never causes any acne issues. Bonus! 

Following the oil, I am currently using Hey Honey! Good Morning Honey Silk Facial Serum. I love this product because it is also light in texture, and it makes my skin feel like silk. It dries quickly also, which is key when I’m getting ready for work and don’t have any spare minutes (damn you, snooze button!). It doesn’t interfere with the texture of my BB cream either, which is another plus.

4. Eye cream/primer. Promise me something. Please please please, dear reader, do not forget about your eyes. I don’t care if you are 16 or 65, taking care of the delicate skin around your eyes is everything. My current go to for this daunting task is none other than Sephora’s Perfecting & Smoothing Eye Primer. Not only does it extend the life of your concealer and eye makeup, but it also smooths and moisturizes without irritating. 

There you have it. This is my skin routine, and it works wonders for me. If you have a similar skin profile, I highly recommend all of the products mentioned. If not, I encourage you to experiment. Subscription services, beauty advisors, blogs, and plain old trial and error are all great methods for finding your perfect product combination. Have fun out there, and as always, do you!

Leave a comment